COUNCIL BUSINESS COMMITTEE

6.00 P.M.

19TH JULY 2018

PRESENT:- Councillors John Reynolds (Chairman), Nigel Goodrich (Substitute for Phillippa Williamson), Janet Hall, Joan Jackson, Jean Parr and Andrew Warriner

Apologies for Absence

Councillors Abi Mills and Phillippa Williamson

Officers in attendance:-

Debbie Chambers	Democratic Services Manager
Lisa Vines	Elections Manager
Tessa Mott	Democratic Support Officer

Also in attendance:-

Councillor Colin Hartley

1 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

The Chairman requested nominations for the position of Vice-Chairman of Council Business Committee for the 2018/19 municipal year.

It was proposed by Councillor Janet Hall and seconded by Councillor Jean Parr that, Councillor Andrew Warriner be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council Business Committee. There being no further nominations, the Chairman declared the proposal to be carried.

Resolved:

That Councillor Andrew Warriner be appointed Vice-Chairman of Council Business Committee for the 2018/19 municipal year.

2 MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting of 22 February 2018 (previously circulated) were signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

3 ITEMS OF URGENT BUSINESS AUTHORISED BY THE CHAIRMAN

There were no items of urgent business.

4 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

5 COMMUNITY GOVERNANCE REVIEW: RESPONSES TO THE SECOND STAGE OF CONSULTATION

The Committee considered a report of the Democratic Services Manager to consider the responses received to the second stage of the Community Governance Review consultation process and agree the matters for inclusion in the Draft Reorganisation Order.

The Elections Manager presented the report and updated the Committee on the second stage of the consultation regarding the three elements of the Community Governance Review in the report:

- 1. Proposal to create Heysham Parish Council;
- 2. The merging of Yealand Conyers Parish Council and Yealand Redmayne Parish Council into one parish to be titled "Yealand Parish Council";
- 3. The renaming of Thurnham Parish Council as "Glasson and Thurnham Parish Council".

The Committee adjourned briefly at this point to allow the Councillor in attendance to address Committee members.

Councillors asked various questions of the Election Manager regarding the proposal to create Heysham Parish Council including: Community Governance Review guidelines; influence of the Committee in the decision making process; reference to irrelevant comments (such as potholes and street lights); explanation of the 'door knock' consultation and the perceived pros and cons of Parish Councils.

Due to the absence of a clear majority of responses either in favour or against the proposal to create Heysham Parish Council, coupled with the high volume of responses that were uncertain, the Committee felt that at this point, it would not be appropriate to take the proposal further.

It was therefore proposed by Councillor Joan Jackson and seconded by Councillor Janet Hall:

"That the Committee recommend to Council, that they do not support the creation of Heysham Parish Council".

Upon being put to the vote, 5 Members voted in favour of the proposition and 1 against, whereupon the Chairman declared the proposal to be carried.

With regard to the merging of Yealand Conyers Parish Council and Yealand Redmayne Parish Council into "Yealand Parish Council", the Elections Manager explained that there appeared to be a good equilibrium at present and Yealand Conyers Parish Council did currently not wish to merge with Yealand Redmayne Parish Council. The Committee acknowledged this and decided to take no further action.

Finally, with regard to the renaming of Thurnham Parish Council (to include Glasson), several options were discussed. The Committee were in agreement that "Thurnham with Glasson" seemed the most appropriate name, given the history of the Parish Council and the consultation responses received. The Elections Manager explained that a new consultation would be issued with a two week timeframe to ask residents for their

comments on the final proposal for the Parish to be renamed "Thurnham with Glasson Parish Council".

It was also agreed that the Elections Manager would update Members via the outcome of this consultation and any amendments to the Community Governance Review Terms of Reference via email in due course.

Resolved:

- (1) That, the Committee recommend to Council, that they do not support the creation of Heysham Parish Council.
- (2) That, no further action is taken with regard to the merging of Yealand Conyers Parish Council and Yealand Redmayne Parish Council.
- (3) That, the Elections Manager issue a new consultation to affected residents, with a two week timeframe, to seek views on the final proposal for the Parish to be renamed "Thurnham with Glasson Parish Council".
- (4) That, Members be updated about the outcome of the above consultation and any amendments to the Community Governance Review Terms of Reference via email in due course.

6 APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND CHANGES TO MEMBERSHIP

Resolved:

That the following appointments and changes to committees be approved:

- 1. Councillor Mel Guilding to replace Councillor Susan Sykes on the Planning and Highways Regulatory Committee (effective from 1st August 2018).
- 2. Councillor Susan Sykes to become a named substitute on the Planning and Highways Regulatory Committee (effective from 1st August 2018).
- 3. Councillor Amara Betts-Patel to become a named substitute on the Personnel Committee.
- 4. Councillor David Whittaker to become a named substitute on the Personnel Committee.

Chairman

(The meeting ended at 6.34 p.m.)

Any queries regarding these Minutes, please contact Tessa Mott, Democratic Services - 01524 582074 or email tmott@lancaster.gov.uk